NA to elect new Leader of House today | NewsUpdate | News and Press Releases from a wide range of Authentic and Reliable resources

Home » General »

NA to elect new Leader of House today


National Assembly is electing new Leader of the House today.

Six candidates, including Shahid Khaqan Abbasi of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, are in the fray to contest the election at the specially convened session of the house at three this afternoon.

Other candidates in the run include PPP's Syed Khurshid Shah and Syed Naveed Qamar, PTI's Sheikh Rashid Ahmad, Jamaat-e-Islami's Sahibzada Tariqullah and MQM's Kishwar Zahra.

Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq scrutinized the nomination papers and found nomination papers of all the candidates in order.

The candidates can withdraw their nomination papers any time before the start of the election process.

Radio Pakistan correspondent says the election of the Leader of the House would take place without any debate.

The Speaker will read out names of the validly nominated candidates and ask members who wish to vote in favour of their candidates to pass in single file through the designated entrance.

Tellers posted there will record their votes and after a member has recorded his vote, he would not return to the Chamber till completion of the voting process.

When all the members have recorded their votes, bells would be rung for two minutes to allow members to return to the Chamber.

The Speaker would then announce the result to the Assembly.

A candidate will have to secure minimum 172 votes in the house of 342 to win the election.

Pakistan Muslim League (N) and its allies enjoy comfortable majority in National Assembly to get their candidate elected as Leader of the House.

President Mamnoon Hussain will administer oath to the newly elected Prime Minister..

Source: Ministry of Information, Broadcasting and National Heritage


Share with Others

Related Posts

  • No Related Posts